The best sugar free chocolate muffins ever!

I have been sugar free for a few months now, and I have actually not missed having sweets, but I really wanted to find a substitute for sugar in any kind of baking so I scavenged the web. I found numerous substitutes, most of them quite rare in the supermarkets, in the end I found one that stood out, agave nectar. It is all natural, and sweeter than sugar so you do not need to use as much.

I also looked for a few recipes using agave, but could not find a perfect one, so I decided to create my own. I give you the best sugar free chocolate muffins ever. This recipe will make about 10 good size muffins.

You will need:

1,5 dl of Agave nectar / syrup

2 eggs

6 tbs of Raw/Pure Cocoa powder

2 dl of  Plain Flour, (or any other type of flour, perhaps gluten free, as long as it isn’t self raising)

2 tsp of Baking Powder

1 tsp of Vanilla powder or essence

0,75 dl of Milk, (you can use any type of milk you prefer, oat milk would probably be a nice option)

75 grams of Butter

How to: Preheat your oven to 175 °C or 350 °F. Melt the butter and let it cool a bit (it will be at the perfect temperature, when you are done combining everything else)  so it will not scramble the eggs. Mix eggs and agave together. Then add the cocoa powder, baking powder, vanilla, flour and milk. Finally add your melted butter and mix until combined.

Spoon the mixture in to muffin liners or grease a muffin pan. The recipe will make about 10 medium sized muffins. Put your uncooked muffins in to the oven, I put mine on the middle rack. They will take about 18-22 minutes in the oven. I you want to make bigger ones, leave them in for a bit longer. I you want smaller ones do the opposite.

Check your muffins around 18 minutes by inserting a toothpick or a square, if it comes out clean your muffins are done.

I hope you try out this recipe, because they are truly divine. And try to strive for a healthier life style by cutting out sugar or just try to eat less of it. These muffins are truly a treat so do not have them every day, but they are at least better for you than regular muffins.

Hope you enjoy!

DSC_0005

Leave a Reply

